



## Minutes Virginia Federation of NARFE Board of Directors Post Conference Meeting Hotel Madison, Harrisonburg, VA April 10, 2024

Frances Boatman Doris McAdams

J.Larry McILwee Marilyn Riddle
Deborah Fisk Betty Warren

Thomas Rachele Wynn Hasty

Donna Shackelford Melissa Groppel
Bob Martin John Bankson

Dr. Constance Bails Gaston Gianni

Voting Members Absent:
Patricia Wolfe
Ted Pasek – Excused Packing Equipment
Graylin Taylor
Membership (interim F. Boatman)
Service Officer (Vacant)

Deborah Brown

Committee Chairs Absent: Committee Chairs Present:

Beatrice Squire, Parliamentarian

Wanda Ware – Chaplain John Bails – Sgt-at-Arms & Net Coordinator

Ted Pasek – Training – Excused Packing Equipment

Stan Palen – Excused – Packing Equipment
Jim Little – Bylaws

Luther Santiful - Nominating (Not Required)

Kathy Arpa – Newsletter Editor

Guests:

Robert Allen, Region X Vice President

The post conference meeting room was originally scheduled to meet directly after the Conference was adjourned in the same room. The president was able to secure the board meeting room, so the meeting venue was changed. The secretary did not arrive at the meeting until 12:30 pm and the meeting was in progress.

As of 12:30 PM

MOTION by D. Shackelford  $w/2^{nd}$  to enter into contract with the Hotel Madison, Harrisonburg, VA for April 2025. Unanimous Consent. The anticipated date is the week before Easter (April 6 – 9, 2025) if the president can secure that date.

MOTION by T. Rachele  $w/2^{nd}$  to allocate \$30,000 towards expenses for FEDCon24 in St. Louis, MO, August 19 – 20, 2024. Monies prorated per number of attendees to spend for registration, travel, lodging, and meals. Unanimous Consent

MOTION by T. Rachele  $w/2^{nd}$  to allocate registration fee of \$175 plus \$500 travel expenses for CDL's and SL's who decide to attend FEDCon24 in St. Louis, MO, August 19 – 20, 2024

MOTION by B. Martin, w/2<sup>nd</sup> to expense \$100 to the two non-members who helped S.Palen set up the AV equipment on Sunday, April 7, 2024. Unanimous Consent

Results of April 9, 2024 Caucus & Nominating Committee

AREA	Vice President for 24 - 25	Nominating Committee for 24 - 25
Area I	Marilyn Riddle	Carol Brown & John Hodges
Area II	Betty Warren	Margie Mitchell & Joe Murray
Area III	Wynn Hasty	Marjorie Dixon & Rosa DeWitt
	, ,	•
Area IV	Graylin Taylor	Edgar Owens & June Staton

Area VIIRuth GreenePhyllis Scruggs & Carolyn TuckerArea VIIIBob MartinLorie Henderson & Leslie RavenellArea IXCarol CampbellJohn BanksonArea xTed PasekPat Myers

The Nominating Committee was not well attended and because some workshops lapsed into overtime, selected members joined the meeting sporadically. For this reason, an online meeting will be held when all members can assemble. At this time there is no Chair.

The meeting was adjourned at 1:43 pm

Deborah O. Físk, VFN Secretary 05/16/2024